Amidst Opposition Boycott, 25 Parties Set to Grace New Parliament Inauguration


New Delhi: The inauguration of the new Parliament building by Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to witness the presence of approximately 25 parties, despite the decision of 20 Opposition parties to boycott the event.

Along with the 18 members of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), including the BJP, seven non-NDA parties have confirmed their attendance. These non-NDA parties, namely BSP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (Secular), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), YSR Congress, BJD, and TDP, collectively hold 50 MPs in the Lok Sabha. Their participation will serve as a significant boost for the BJP-led NDA, as it helps counter the Opposition’s allegation that the event is purely government-oriented.

In addition to the BJP, the NDA coalition consists of Shiv Sena, National People’s Party, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Jannayak Janata Party, AIDMK, IMKMK, AJSU, RPI, Mizo National Front, Tamil Maanila Congress, ITFT (Tripura), Bodo People’s Party, Pattali Makkal Kacchi, MGP, Apna Dal, and AGP, as stated by alliance leaders.

On the other hand, a joint statement by 19 parties, including the Congress, Left, TMC, SP, and AAP, declared their decision to boycott the event. They believe that the new building holds no significance when the “soul of democracy has been sucked out.” Furthermore, they expressed dissatisfaction with the choice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the inaugurating authority, considering it disrespectful towards the President of India, who holds the highest constitutional office.

However, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi conveyed that if Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla does not preside over the inauguration, his party will not attend the event.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.