Akhilesh Yadav Resigns As MLA From UP, To Retain Kannauj LS Seat

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav resigned as an MLA from Uttar Pradesh’s Karhal assembly seat on Wednesday. He has decided to be the MP for the Kannauj Lok Sabha constituency, which he won in the recent Lok Sabha polls.

SP’s Awadhesh Prasad also resigned from his MLA post after winning from Faizabad Lok Sabha seat.

Akhilesh Yadav representing the Karhal assembly seat was the Leader of the Opposition in the UP Assembly.

“I have met the workers of Karhal and Mainpuri and told them that since I have won elections from two seats, I have to leave one. So, I will inform you about leaving the Vidhan Sabha seat soon,” Akhilesh Yadav said in a press conference on Tuesday.

Prasad, an MLA from the Milkipur assembly seat, was elected as an MP from Faizabad Lok Sabha seat. He defeated two-time MP Lallu Singh in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Earlier, the Samajwadi Party announced that Akhilesh Yadav would be the party’s leader in the Lok Sabha.

You might also like

Comments are closed.