Shubman Gill to Captain India on Zimbabwe Tour, Fresh Faces Get Call-Ups; Check Squad

Mumbai: Shubman Gill has been named captain of a young Indian squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe, starting July 6th. The BCCI selectors have handed call-ups to several promising youngsters who have impressed in the IPL and domestic tournaments.

This series presents a golden opportunity for uncapped players like Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Nitish Reddy, and Tushar Deshpande to impress on the international stage. Sharma, the highest six-hitter in IPL 2024, and Parag, the third-highest run scorer, bring both batting firepower and handy spin options. All-rounder Reddy has impressed with his batting potential, while pacer Deshpande’s consistent domestic performances have earned him a well-deserved call-up.

Despite an underwhelming IPL season, young talent Dhruv Jurel finds himself back in the squad, likely due to his impressive start in Test cricket. Wicket-keeper batter Sanju Samson is expected to lead the charge behind the stumps, with Jurel providing backup. The opening slot promises an interesting battle, with Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Yashasvi Jaiswal all vying for the slot.

The bowling attack features a mix of experience and youth. Pacer Khaleel Ahmed is in line for a potential comeback after a long absence from international cricket. Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar offer additional pace options, while Washington Sundar and Ravi Bishnoi provide spin support.

Full squad: Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

You might also like

Comments are closed.