Modi to Take Oath as PM for 3rd Time on Sunday Evening

New Delhi: Narendra Modi will be sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the third straight time on Sunday evening. Earlier there were reports that the oath-taking would take place on Saturday.

By taking oath for the post of the PM, he will become the second Indian to do so after Jawaharlal Nehru.

The South Asian leaders invited to the oath-taking ceremony include the Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina, Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, who confirmed their arrival.

Invitations have also been sent to Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, his Bhutan counterpart Tshering Tobgay and Mauritius PM Pravind Jugnauth.

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP got 240 seats, which is down from its overwhelming majority of 303 in 2019. The NDA, with 293 seats is above the majority mark of 272.

This means that PM Modi and the BJP will have to rely on their allies to form the government, a situation the saffron party faces for the first time since 2014. The two biggest partners are Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, which has got 16 seats, and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United, which has garnered 12.

You might also like

Comments are closed.