Neeraj Chopra to Lead India’s Charge at World Athletics Championships in Budapest

New Delhi: India’s 28-member team for the upcoming World Athletics Championships in Budapest, Hungary, has been announced by the Sports Ministry, marking Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra as the headliner. The championships will take place from August 19 to 27.

Notably, Asian record-holder shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor will miss the event due to a groin injury sustained during the Asian Championships in July. Additionally, high jumper Tejaswin Shankar, 800m runner K M Chanda, and 20km race walker Priyanka Goswami, all national record holders, have opted out of the World Championships to focus on the Asian Games in Hangzhou, China, scheduled from September 23 to October 8.

Neeraj Chopra, the reigning Diamond League champion, is eager to secure a gold medal in Budapest, aiming to improve upon his silver medal performance in the last edition held in Eugene, USA, in 2022. India’s contingent is geared up to make its mark at the prestigious event and showcase its prowess on the global stage.

Women: Jyothi Yarraji (100m Hurdles), Parul Chaudhary (3000m Steeplechase), Shaili Singh (Long Jump), Annu Rani (Javelin Throw), Bhawna Jat (20km Race Walk).

Men: Krishan Kumar (800m), Ajay Kumar Saroj (1500m), Santhosh Kumar Tamilarnsan (400m Hurdles), Avinash Mukund Sable (3000m Steeplechase), Sarvesh Anil Kushare (High Jump), Jeswin Aldrin (Long Jump), M Sreeshankar (Long Jump), Praveen Chithravel (Triple Jump), Abdulla Aboobacker (Triple Jump), Eldhose Paul (Triple Jump), Neeraj Chopra (Javelin Throw), DP Manu (Javelin Throw), Kishore Kumar Jena (Javelin Throw), Akashdeep Singh (20km Race Walk), Vikash Singh (20km Race Walk), Paramjeet Singh (20km Race Walk), Ram Baboo (35km Race Walk), Amoj Jacob, Muhammed Ajmal, Muhammed Anas, Rajesh Ramesh, Anil Rajalingam, Mijo Chacko Kurian (Men’s 4x400m Relay).

You might also like

Comments are closed.