Odisha: 10 Districts Reschedule School Openings Post-Summer Vacation Due to Persistent Heatwave

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has empowered district collectors to decide on the reopening of schools post-summer vacation based on local weather conditions. Consequently, several districts have announced their decisions.

On Monday, the administrations of 10 districts revealed their plans. Ganjam, Bhadrak, and Bargarh districts have extended the summer vacation, keeping schools closed until June 20. Meanwhile, schools in Keonjhar, Deogarh, Jagatsinghpur, Angul, Khurda, and Puri will reopen as scheduled on June 18 but will operate on a morning schedule from 6:30 am to 10:30 am until June 20. In Nabarangpur district, the morning classes will continue until June 22.

Earlier, the School and Mass Education Department issued a notification allowing district collectors to declare holidays or adjust class timings for students from Class I to XII in public, private, and aided schools according to the weather. This directive is effective until April 20.

Initially, Odisha schools were set to reopen on June 18 after an early summer break starting April 25 due to a prolonged heatwave.

You might also like

Comments are closed.