PM Modi Elected as Leader of NDA

New Delhi: Newly elected MPs of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) elected Narendra Modi as the leader of their alliance in a meeting at the Central Hall of the old Parliament building on Friday. With this Modi is all set to be sworn in as Prime Minister for a third consecutive term.

The name of Modi was proposed by veteran BJP leader Rajnath Singh and it was supported by Amit Shah and Nitin Gadkari. All other NDA MPs also extended their support to the proposal. Apart from the NDA MPs, senior leaders of the parties in the alliance, including chief ministers are attending this meeting. After Modi’s election as the leader of NDA MPs, senior members of the alliance including TDP’s N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar and Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde along with Modi wil meet the President Droupadi Murmu to present her the list of parliamentarians supporting him.

The swearing-in of PM Modi is likely to be held on Sunday evening.

The NDA has 293 MPs crossing the halfway mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

The BJP lost majority for the first time since 2014 and needs allies’ support to maintain its hold on power.

You might also like

Comments are closed.