T20 World Cup 2024, IND vs PAK: Pakistan Win Toss, Opt To Bowl First; Check Playing XIs

New York: Cricket’s fiercest rivalry takes centre stage tonight as India and Pakistan lock horns in a highly anticipated Group A fixture of the T20 World Cup 2024. The much-awaited clash will be held at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York, a venue unfamiliar to both teams but buzzing with anticipation for this marquee event.

Rohit Sharma’s India enters the contest as the clear favourite. However, Pakistan, reeling from a shock defeat to co-hosts USA in their opening game, will be desperate to bounce back and prove their mettle. This high-pressure encounter could be a do-or-die situation for Babar Azam’s men.

While India boast a dominant record in T20 cricket overall (winning 9 out of 12 encounters), Pakistan holds a slight edge in T20 World Cups, having won their only encounter in the 2021 edition. However, India emerged victorious in their last T20 World Cup meeting in Melbourne (November 2022) thanks to a Virat Kohli masterclass.

The Nassau County pitch has raised concerns due to its inconsistent bounce, favouring bowlers, particularly pacers. The highest total recorded here so far is a meagre 137. The grounds staff are working diligently to ensure a more even surface for the high-profile India-Pakistan clash.

While rain showers are predicted early in the day, they are expected to clear by 10 am, paving the way for a thrilling contest. Cricket fans worldwide eagerly await this epic encounter, hoping for an uninterrupted display of cricketing brilliance.

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir

You might also like

Comments are closed.