T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8, AFG vs IND: India Win Toss, Opt To Bat; Check Playing XIs

Barbados: Having dominated the group stages, India are set to face Afghanistan in their first Super 8 match of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados today. The inaugural T20 champions will encounter a formidable Afghanistan side, renowned for their unpredictability.

Despite never having beaten India, Afghanistan will be eager to bounce back after a heavy defeat to the West Indies.

India’s previous matches were held in the USA, with the last game against Canada washed out in Florida. The team has had three intensive training sessions at the Kensington Oval to acclimate to Caribbean conditions.

Veterans Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, despite Kohli’s recent struggles, will be crucial for India.

India’s strategy will involve cautious yet aggressive batting, with Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav expected to anchor the middle order. Pant and Yadav, having delivered match-winning performances in New York, bring confidence to the lineup. All-rounder Shivam Dube’s role as a spin-hitter will be crucial against Afghanistan’s bowling attack.

Afghanistan’s batting lineup, led by Rahmanullah Gurbaz, will face a stern test against India’s potent bowling unit. Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh’s prowess in the powerplay and the precision of India’s spinners will be key to containing Afghanistan.

India lead the head-to-head record with 7 wins out of 8 matches against Afghanistan, including a clean sweep in a 3-match series earlier this year in India. In T20 World Cups, India hold a 3-0 advantage.

The pitch at Kensington Oval favours batsmen, with high scores recorded in previous matches. Spinners will likely influence the middle overs. The game starts at 10:30 am local time (8 pm IST), and weather conditions are expected to be favourable for a full match.

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan(c), Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

You might also like

Comments are closed.