ZIM vs IND, 3rd T20I: India Win Toss, Opt to Bat First; Check Playing XIs

Harare: Shubman Gill-led young Indian team faces a welcome selection headache as they take on Zimbabwe in the crucial third T20I of the five-match series at Harare Sports Club today.

The series is tied 1-1 after India bounced back from a surprise defeat in the opener with a dominant 100-run victory in the second match.

However, the arrival of Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Shivam Dube – all members of India’s victorious T20 World Cup squad – has spiced things up. While their experience strengthens the team, it could mean some standout performers from the first two games might miss out.

Dhruv Jurel is the frontrunner to make way for the returning Sanju Samson behind the stumps. Shivam Dube might take Riyan Parag’s place, but the bigger question lies with Yashasvi Jaiswal, a natural top-order batsman.

The team management faces a tough call: do they drop Abhishek Sharma after his maiden T20I century in the previous match? A potential solution could see Jaiswal opening alongside Gill, with Sai Sudarshan making way. Abhishek Sharma could then slot in at number three.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe need to overcome the heavy defeat in the second T20I and regroup for the remaining matches. Captain Sikandar Raza’s side needs a significant batting improvement, having posted only 115 and 134 runs in the first two encounters. They will also need to devise a new strategy to counter India’s newfound firepower.

Playing XIs

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhishek Sharma, Shubman Gill(c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson(w), Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed

Zimbabwe: Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wessly Madhevere, Brian Bennett, Dion Myers, Sikandar Raza(c), Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande(w), Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara

You might also like

Comments are closed.