Five In Fray For Bypoll To Dhamnagar Seat


Bhadrak: A total of five candidates will contest the by-poll to Dhamnagar constituency to be held on November 3 as nobody opted out of the race on the last date of withdrawal of the nomination paper on Monday.

Five candidates include two Independents and three from political parties-BJP, BJD, and Congress.

Abanti Dash will be contesting on BJD ticket while BJP’s Suryabandi Suraj is in the fray. Similarly, Baba Harekrushna Sethy is fighting from Congress.

Rajendra Dash, a former legislator who was a frontrunner for the BJD ticket had filed the nomination as Independent candidate, putting up open rebellion against the party. BJD’s last-minute effort to appease the former MLA went in vain as he remained adamant on contesting the by-poll.

The nomination of Pabitra Mohan Dash, an Independent candidate, also remained valid.

All the parties have already hit the campaign trail with announcement of their respective star campaigners.

Dhamnagar by-election, scheduled to be held on November 3, fell vacant after BJP’s sitting MLA and deputy leader of the opposition in State Assembly Bishnu Sethi’s death.

The counting of votes will be held on November 6.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.