Premier Odia Author Gaurahari Das Bags Sarala Purashkar 2022


Renowned Odia fiction author Gourahari Das was presented with the esteemed 43rd Sarala Award for the year 2022 on Wednesday.

IMPaCT, the IMFA’s CSR arm, hosted an event where the prize was presented to Das. Das won the honour for his 2018 Timepass Publication short story collection “Bagha O Anyanya Galpa.”

Along with a citation, he was given a financial award of Rs. 5 lakh.

Additionally, in 2012, Das bagged the Sahitya Akademi Award. Further, he was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize for 2021 for “Chheli Chareibara Dina,” an Odia translation of Uday Parkash’s “Aadujeevitham” (Goat Days), a Malayalam novel. Along with various novels, travelogues, and short stories, he has six translations to his name.

In addition, the renowned painter and author Prafulla Mohanty, who resides in London, and Odissi music guru Ghanshyam Panda were both given the “Ila-Bansidhar Panda Kala Samman” for their significant contributions to the arts. Both were given citations and cash awards totaling Rs. 1.5 lakh each. The renowned Odia industrialist Dr.Bansidhar Panda and his wife Ila Panda established the yearly Sarala Puraskar in 1980. Since then, the Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT) has been honouring notable individuals for their contributions to Odia literature.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.