Who will be the next Vice President; today a total of 786 MPs of both houses will cast their votes


New Delhi: Elections for the post of Vice President will be held today. A vote will be taken for this in the Parliament House. All preparations for the voting have reached the final stage. The polls will be held on Saturday and the results will be announced on the same day. Voting will start from 10 am on Saturday and will end at 5 pm. After that the votes will be counted. The tenure of the current Vice President Venkaiah Naidu is going to end on 11th. Therefore, there is a need for the Vice President to be elected before this.

Former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar has been nominated by the BJP-led NDA in this election, while Margaret Alva has been nominated by the opposition party. There will be direct confrontation between both of them. Only Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs vote in this election. Even the elected MPs of the Rajya Sabha also participate in it. 543 MPs of Lok Sabha and 243 members of Rajya Sabha are likely to participate in this vote. A total of 786 MPs are likely to vote. However, there are 12 elected MPs in the Rajya Sabha. Both the candidates requested the MPs to vote in their favor.

However, BJD has already announced that it will support Dhankhad. Similarly, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi announced on Friday that it will support the opposition candidate Alva.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.