Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka Take On Pakistan In The Final

Dubai: Sri Lanka will take on Pakistan in the final of the 2022 Asia Cup today (Sep 11) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Sri Lanka will be playing in their 12th Asia Cup final, while Pakistan will be contesting in their fifth final.

In the previous meeting between these two sides during the Super Four stages of the tournament, Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan with five wickets and three overs to spare. Wanindu Hasaranga’s three-wicket haul and Pathum Nissanka’s 48-ball 55* helped Sri Lanka seal a victory before heading into the final.

Super King Maheesh Theekshana bowled a tidy and economical spell in that match, returning with bowling figures of 4-0-21-2.

For Pakistan, it was their captain, Babar Azam, who top scored with a 29-ball 30. Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf took two wickets each.

After the match, Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka said that the combination of left-arm fast bowlers and spinners was helping the team.

“The combination we have with the left-arm fast bowlers, the leg spinners-the variation we have is amazing. These are areas we can improve. If we could get early wickets in the next game, that will be good,” said Shanaka.

Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam felt that the final Super Four stage encounter against Sri Lanka was a good learning experience for the team to improve their game.

“This [Friday’s game vs Sri Lanka] was definitely a good learning experience. We will sit back and analyse this game, and see where we can improve for Sunday,” said Azam.

Sri Lanka Squad: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Jeffrey Vandersay, Charith Asalanka, Asitha Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara

Pakistan Squad: Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah, Haider Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani

You might also like

Comments are closed.