BJP’s Samrat Choudhary, Vijay Sinha to be Nitish Kumar’s Deputies

Patna: Bihar witnessed a significant political shift on Sunday as Chief Minister Nitish Kumar submitted his resignation to Governor Rajendra Arlekar. The state is set to have two Deputy Chief Ministers from the BJP – Samrat Chaudhary, the state BJP chief, and Vijay Sinha, the Leader of Opposition in the Bihar assembly.

The decision to form an NDA government with BJP, JD(U), and other allies was unanimously passed during the legislative party meeting, where Samrat Chaudhary was elected as the leader, and Vijay Sinha as the deputy leader. Ahead of Kumar’s resignation, the BJP had confirmed its intention to join hands with JD(U) and other allies to govern the state.

Expressing gratitude, Samrat Chaudhary called the BJP’s role historic and emphasized their commitment to the development of Bihar and ending the influence of Lalu Yadav. He stated, “The mandate we received in 2020 for Bihar’s development and to counter the ‘Jungle Raj’ led us to support Nitish Kumar’s proposal.”

The political dynamics shifted after Nitish Kumar decided to end the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ rule in the state. At the Raj Bhavan, Kumar informed Governor Arlekar about the decision, signalling the conclusion of the alliance.

The sequence of events was set in motion by a social media post from Rohini Acharya, daughter of RJD chief Lalu Yadav, criticizing JD(U)’s ideological shifts despite styling itself as a progressive socialist party.

You might also like

Comments are closed.