IPL 2024, RR vs MI: Mumbai Indians Opt To Bat As RR Look To Consolidate Top Spot; Check Playing XIs

Jaipur: Rajasthan Royals (RR) are set to host Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 38th match of IPL 2024 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Monday. The Royals, currently leading the points table with six wins in seven matches, return to their fortress in Jaipur with confidence after securing two close victories on the road.

MI, on the other hand, find themselves languishing in the bottom half of the points table after seven games, having won only three matches so far. Led by Hardik Pandya, the five-time champions are eager to turn their fortunes around and climb up the standings.

RR hold a psychological advantage heading into the contest, having convincingly defeated Mumbai Indians earlier in the season at the Wankhede Stadium. In that encounter, Mumbai Indians were restricted to 125 for 9 before Rajasthan chased down the target comfortably.

Key players to watch out for in Monday’s match include Rohit Sharma, who has been in exceptional form for Mumbai Indians, amassing 297 runs in seven matches at a remarkable strike rate. However, Mumbai will be looking for better contributions from Hardik Pandya, who has struggled with the bat so far.

Both teams boast formidable batting line-ups, but Rajasthan’s home record this season gives them an edge. The pitch at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium has offered assistance to both pacers and spinners, with no team managing to score 200 runs yet.

As the teams prepare to battle it out in Jaipur, clear weather is expected for Monday’s evening match.


Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah

MI Impact Subs: Nuwan Thushara, Akash Madhwal, Naman Dhir, Shams Mulani, Dewald Brevis

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

RR Impact Subs: Jos Buttler, Keshav Maharaj, Shubham Dubey, Navdeep Saini, Tom Kohler-Cadmore

You might also like

Comments are closed.