Re-Polling in 11 Polling Booths in Inner Manipur Lok Sabha Constituency

Imphal: Re-polling is being conducted at 11 polling stations in the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha constituency on Monday amid tight security.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) ordered re-polling in these booths following incidents of violence that marred the voting process on April 19. The ECI declared the polling in these booths on April 19 as null and void.

The re-polling began in these booths at 7 am on Monday.

Fresh voting is being conducted at Moirangkampu Sajeb and Thongam Leikai in Khurai constituency, two each in Bamon Kampu and Irilbung in Kshetrigao constituency and at Khongman Zone V in Thongju in Imphal East district, three in Iroishemba area in Uripok constituency and at Khaidem Makha in Konthoujam in Imphal West district.

Incidents of firing, intimidation, destruction of EVMs at some polling stations and allegations of booth capturing were reported from these booths in Manipur, while the state recorded a turnout of 72 per cent in the two Lok Sabha constituencies of the state – Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur – on Friday.

You might also like

Comments are closed.