Amit Shah, JP Nadda Lead BJP’s Charge with 15-Member Poll Panel in Bengal

Kolkata: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) West Bengal unit has formed a 15-member election management committee in preparation for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Notable figures in the committee include Union Home Minister Amit Shah, party chief JP Nadda, and key leaders from the state.

The committee convened in Kolkata for a meeting to deliberate on the impending polls. Amit Shah and JP Nadda arrived in the city, receiving a warm welcome from party members at the airport.

Core members of the committee comprise Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP chief JP Nadda, state party chief Sukanta Majumdar, MP Dilip Ghosh, Leader of Opposition in the West Bengal Assembly Suvendu Adhikari, Rahul Sinha, Amitabh Chakraborty, Satish Dhand, Mangal Pandey, and Asha Lockra.

Additionally, the committee includes five general secretaries: MP Locket Chatterjee, Asansol South MLA Agnimitra Paul, Jagannath Chatterjee, Jatirmoy Singh Mahat, and Deepak Burman.

West Bengal has 42 Lok Sabha constituencies. In the 2019 elections, the Trinamool Congress secured 22 seats, facing a formidable challenge from the BJP, which won 18 seats. The remaining two seats were claimed by the Congress.

Amit Shah has set an ambitious target of winning 35 out of the 42 seats in the upcoming polls. Strategy discussions with party members are anticipated in the lead-up to the new year, according to reports.

You might also like

Comments are closed.