Absent DMK MP Caught in Lok Sabha Suspension Crossfire, Centre Withdraws Suspension

New Delhi: 14 Opposition MPs, including DMK leader SR Parthiban, were suspended from the Lok Sabha today for disrupting House proceedings during the Winter Session. However, it was later clarified by the government that Parthiban’s inclusion was a result of a ‘mistaken identity.’ Notably, DMK MPs raised concerns, asserting that Parthiban, mentioned among the suspended MPs, was not even present in the House but in Chennai.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi addressed the situation, acknowledging the error in one MP’s inclusion due to misidentification. A formal request was made to the Speaker to rectify the mistake, which was duly accepted.

The disciplinary action against the Opposition members stemmed from their protests, urging the government to provide a statement on the breach of security in Parliament. A total of 14 Opposition MPs faced suspension for their “unruly” conduct, with nine from Congress, two from CPM, one from DMK, and one from CPI. The suspension affected 13 members in the Lok Sabha and one in the Rajya Sabha.



You might also like

Comments are closed.