54 MPs Including Ex-PM Manmohan Singh, 9 Union Ministers, Retire From Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: A total of 54 members of the Rajya Sabha, including former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and nine Union Ministers, are set to retire on Tuesday and Wednesday. This marks the end of Manmohan Singh’s remarkable 33-year parliamentary career in the Upper House. Notably, Sonia Gandhi will step into the Rajya Sabha for the first time, succeeding Singh’s seat from Rajasthan.

Manmohan Singh, renowned for his pivotal role in economic reforms, began his tenure in October 1991 and served as Finance Minister under Prime Minister Narasimha Rao from 1991 to 1996. He later assumed office as Prime Minister from 2004 to 2014.

Seven Union Ministers, including Dharmendra Pradhan and Mansukh Mandaviya, will conclude their tenure in the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday, as they embark on their electoral campaigns for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Environment Minister Bhupendra Yadav and Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw will retire on Wednesday.

Notably, some retiring members like Jaya Bachchan and Manoj Kumar Jha have been renominated by their parties, while others, such as Abhishek Singhvi, lost their electoral bids. Additionally, BJP stalwarts like Prakash Javadekar and Sushil Kumar Modi will also retire from the Upper House, with no renomination by the party.

You might also like

Comments are closed.