Team India Eyes Redemption in South Africa Tour; Check Full Schedule, Venues & Squads

India has embarked on their path to redemption following their ODI World Cup 2023 final defeat, making a strong start by dominating Australia in a decisive 4-1 victory in a five-match T20I series.

Led by Suryakumar Yadav, the Indian team showcased outstanding performances from players such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, and Axar Patel. The squad is now gearing up for their next challenge – an all-format tour of South Africa, commencing on December 10 with three T20Is. Subsequently, the action will continue with as many ODIs starting from December 17, concluding with a gripping two-match Test series from December 26.

For the white-ball series against South Africa, regular skipper Rohit Sharma and star batter Virat Kohli will be taking a well-deserved rest, reserving their presence solely for the Test matches. Suryakumar Yadav will step in to lead the team in the T20Is, while the proficient KL Rahul will take charge for the ODIs.

Adding excitement to the team dynamics, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, who were notably absent during the World Cup and the Australia series, are set to make their comeback for the ODIs. This strategic inclusion aims to bolster the team’s strength as they embark on their South African tour, providing fans with an intriguing lineup and raising expectations for a thrilling series.

Here’s the full schedule of India’s tour of South Africa:


1st T20I – December 10, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in Kingsmead, Durban

2nd T20I – December 12, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd T20I- December 14, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


1st ODI – December 17, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

2nd ODI – December 19, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd ODI – December 21, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in Boland Park, Paarl


1st Test – December 26-30, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in SuperSport Park, Centurion

2nd Test – January 3-7, 2024 at 2:00 PM IST in Newlands, Cape Town


India T20I squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Deepak Chahar.

India ODI squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and Deepak Chahar.

India Test squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

You might also like

Comments are closed.