WATCH: RECORD-BREAKING RUTURAJ Smashes 7 Sixes In An Over In 220-Run Knock

Ahmedabad: In the second quarterfinal of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday, Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed a brilliant double century (220*) against Uttar Pradesh. The right-handed batter struck 10 boundaries and 16 sixes in his 159-ball inning.

Courtesy of Ruturaj’s scintillating batting, Maharashtra posted 330/5 in their 50 overs.

However, Ruturaj went berserk in the 49th over of the innings. The ill-fated over was bowled by Shiva Singh who was hit for seven sixes by Ruturaj, scoring 43 runs. With this Ruturaj became the first cricketer in List A to knock seven sixes in a single over. Ruturaj now has two centuries to his name in this year’s Vijay Hazare Trophy.

He had previously scored 124* against Railways on November 12.

Most runs by a batter in a single over in List A Cricket

  1. Ruturaj Gaikwad – 43 runs off Shiva Singh (2022)
  2. Elton Chigumbura – 39 runs off Alauddin Babu (2013)
  3. JP Duminy – 37 runs off Eddie Leie (2018)
  4. Herschelle Gibbs – 36 runs off Daan van Bunge (2007)
  5. Thisara Perera – 36 runs off Dilhan Cooray (2021)
You might also like

Comments are closed.