Australia Rests David Warner for T20 Series Against India

New Delhi: David Warner will not be part of the Australia team that will play the five-match T20 series in India following Australia’s ODI World Cup triumph in Ahmedabad. All-rounder Aaron Hardie has joined the squad as Warner’s replacement.

Warner was Australia’s leading run-getter with 535 runs in the World Cup. He was initially included in the Australian team for the T20 series. Now selectors have excluded Warner from the team.

“Selectors decided Warner would return home on the back of a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign,” Cricket Australia said in a statement on Tuesday.

Reacting to a post on social media signalling the southpaw had played his last ODI World Cup, the 37-year-old on Tuesday said: “Who said I am finished?”

India’s squad for the T20 series against Australia has only three players from the World Cup — skipper Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Prasidh Krishna. Shreyas Iyer will play the last two games in Raipur and Bengaluru.

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

You might also like

Comments are closed.