India Announce Squad for Australia ODIs: R Ashwin Returns, Rohit & Kohli Rested For First 2 ODIs

Mumbai: The Indian cricket team’s squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia was announced on Monday, with KL Rahul to lead the team in the first two games. R Ashwin is making a return to the ODI setup, while Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will be rested for the first two matches but are set to return for the final encounter.

Meanwhile, Axar Patel’s fitness remains to be a matter of concern with Chief selector Ajit Agarkar being ‘hopeful’ that Axar will recover in time for the last match. Axar sustained an injury during a Super 4 encounter against Bangladesh. Washington Sundar replaced him in the Asia Cup squad but is now headed to the Asian Games. Ashwin seems the likely choice to bolster India’s batting depth.

In recent cricket action, Mohammed Siraj impressed in the Asia Cup final as India convincingly defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in Colombo. This victory marked India’s 8th Asia Cup title. The team aims to maintain this momentum in the upcoming 50-over clashes against Australia. Following the ODI series, India will play two warm-up matches before the World Cup.

Both India and Australia are among the favourites to win the upcoming World Cup, set to take place on Indian soil. Australia has already announced its 18-member squad for the three ODIs, with key players making their return to the team.

India’s Squad:

For First two ODIs vs Australia: KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

For third and final ODI vs Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj.
You might also like

Comments are closed.