IPL 2024, DC vs GT: Gujarat Titans Win Toss, Opt To Field Against Delhi Capitals; Check Playing XIs

New Delhi: The Delhi Capitals (DC) lock horns with the Gujarat Titans (GT) in the 40th match of IPL 2024 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium tonight. DC will be looking to bounce back from a heavy defeat against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and replicate their dominant performance against GT from earlier this season.

In their first meeting at the Narendra Modi Stadium, DC’s bowlers skittled out GT for a paltry 89 runs. Kuldeep Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed spearheaded the bowling attack, handing DC their most convincing win of the season.

Currently sitting at number 8 in the points table, DC desperately need a win to keep their playoff hopes alive. They will require a strong showing from both batsmen and bowlers, particularly captain Rishabh Pant, who will be crucial for their batting success.

GT emerged victorious against Punjab Kings (PBKS) in their previous encounter, but their top-order batting continues to be a worry. Rahul Tewatia’s late heroics secured them the win, but they’ll need a more collective effort against DC’s potent spin attack featuring Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel.

DC and GT have a balanced head-to-head record, with both teams winning two out of their four meetings so far. Notably, both DC victories came in Ahmedabad, including their earlier demolition of GT.

Delhi witnessed some rain yesterday, and a cool and breezy evening is expected at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. The pitch is likely to be batting-friendly, similar to the DC vs SRH match. Early swing bowling could pose a challenge for both sides.

Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar

DC Impact Subs: Sumit Kumar, Rasikh Dar Salam, Kumar Kushagra, Praveen Dubey, Lalit Yadav

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill(c), David Miller, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahul Tewatia, Shahrukh Khan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Warrier

GT Impact Subs: Sharath BR, Sai Sudharsan, Manav Suthar, Darshan Nalkande, Vijay Shankar

You might also like

Comments are closed.