IPL 2024, RR vs KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders Win Toss, Opt To Field First; Check Playing XIs

Guwahati: Rajasthan Royals (RR) will face a crucial test against table-toppers Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on Sunday in Guwahati, aiming to snap their four-match losing streak and solidify their position in the top two of the IPL 2024 playoffs.

Earlier in the season, RR held the top spot for a significant period, boasting a strong winning record. However, a narrow defeat to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) triggered a slump, leading to their current losing streak. KKR, on the other hand, have been on a tear, winning four consecutive matches except for a washout against Gujarat Titans.

Historically, RR struggle to maintain consistency in the latter stages of the IPL. Last year, they lost crucial matches after a strong start, missing the playoffs. A win against KKR could not only end their current losing streak but also break this recurring pattern and boost their confidence for the playoffs.

KKR, currently riding high on their winning streak, are a serious contender for the championship title.

The match will be played at the Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati, which witnessed a low-scoring encounter earlier this week between RR and Punjab Kings (PBKS). With average first-innings scores hovering around 180 in recent matches, bowlers are likely to dominate. The weather forecast predicts temperatures between 24°C and 31°C with high humidity and the possibility of rain and thunderstorms later in the evening.

Playing XIs

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson (c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravi Ashwin, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Avesh Khan, Nandre Burger

RR Impact Subs: Shubham Dubey, Keshav Maharaj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Sen, Donovan Ferreira

Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy

KKR Impact Subs: Vaibhav Arora, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, KS Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford

You might also like

Comments are closed.