BJP Names Mohan Charan Majhi As New Odisha Chief Minister, Appoints 2 Deputy CMs

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has officially announced Mohan Charan Majhi as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. This decision was made at the first meeting of its newly elected MLAs, held in the presence of Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Singh Yadav on Tuesday.

In addition to Majhi’s appointment, Rajnath Singh announced the names of K V Singhdeo and Pravati Parida as Deputy Chief Ministers of Odisha.

Mohan Charan Majhi, the MLA-elect from Keonjhar, emerged as a frontrunner for the coveted position, alongside other contenders such as state BJP president Manmohan Samal and MLAs Suresh Pujari and Mukesh Mahaling. However, in a surprising turn of events, Majhi, who previously served as the BJP whip in the Odisha Assembly, emerged as the unanimous choice to lead the first BJP government in the state.

The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place at Janata Maidan in Odisha’s capital at 4:45 PM on June 12.

The BJP secured a commendable victory in the recently concluded elections, winning 78 out of the 147 seats in the assembly, paving the way for the formation of its first government in the state.

You might also like

Comments are closed.