Opposition Delegation on 2-Day Visit to Violence-Hit Manipur

New Delhi:  A delegation of 21 MPs from 16 parties of the Opposition coalition, the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) will be in Manipur on July 29 and 30. They will review the ground-level situation in the ethnic violence-hit state.

The Opposition MPs in the delegation include Congress leaders Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Gaurav Gogoi, Phulo Devi Netam, K Suresh; TMC’s Sushmita Dev, Sushil Gupta from AAP, Arvind Sawant from Shiv Sena (UBT), Kanimozhi Karunanidhi from DMK, JD(U) leaders Rajiv Ranjan Singh and Aneel Prasad Hegde, Sandosh Kumar (CPI), AA Rahim (CPIM), Manoj Kumar Jha (RJD), Javed Ali Khan (Samajwadi Party), Mahua Maji (JMM), PP Mohammed Faizal (NCP), ET Mohammed Basheer (IUML), NK Premachandran (RSP), D Ravikumar (VCK), Thiru Thol Thirumavalavan (VCK) and Jayant Singh (RLD).

Departing from Delhi, these INDIA MPs will arrive in Imphal by noon on Saturday. They will visit the violence-hit areas of the state.

The delegation will meet the Manipur Governor. Later these MPs will make efforts to discuss their findings in Parliament. If they are not allowed to express their findings in the Parliament, they will inform it to media through a press conference.

The Opposition is demanding a statement from the prime minister in Parliament on the Manipur situation followed by a full-fledged discussion on it. Since May 3, Manipur is engulfed in ethnic violence which has claimed over 160 lives.

You might also like

Comments are closed.