Voting on for 40 Member Mizoram Assembly Elections

New Delhi: Voters are casting their votes in the polling for the 40-member Mizoram assembly elections on Tuesday. The voting process began at 7 am, and will continue till 4 pm.

Over 8.57 lakh voters, including 4.39 lakh women will decide the fate of 174 candidates.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and Congress have fielded candidates in all the seats. The BJP is contesting in 23 constituencies, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has candidates in four assembly segments. There are 27 independent candidates.

Technical glitches in EVM were reported from a polling station in Aizawl where Chief Minister Zoramthanga went to exercise his franchise.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the polling. The 510-km-long international border with Myanmar and the 318-km boundary with Bangladesh have been sealed for the polling process. The counting of votes will take place on December 3.

You might also like

Comments are closed.