AAP Topples BJP To Win MCD Elections

New Delhi: After more than five hours of vote counting, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which had trailed the BJP for the previous 15 years, won the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). Results for all the 250 seats of MCD were announced on Wednesday.

In the 250-ward MCD, 134 wards have voted for Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP. The Congress came in third place with only nine seats, while the BJP bagged 104 seats. The simple majority mark is 126. 

At the start of the vote counting, the BJP appeared to be significantly ahead, but soon after, the tide began to turn in AAP’s favour.

The MCD was reunified earlier this year, and this was the first election since then. In 2017, the BJP had won 181 of the then 270 municipal wards that were up for election. The AAP had only won 48, and the Congress came in third with 30.

Following current trends, celebrations at the AAP office have begun. Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal is expected to address the public following the results.

The (MCD) polls were held on December 4 that determined the electoral future of 1,349 candidates in 250 of its wards.

You might also like

Comments are closed.