EAM Jaishankar Files Rajya Sabha Nomination From Gujarat

Gandhinagar: Union External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar filed his nomination papers for elections to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat on Monday.

Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel and Gujarat BJP president C R Paatil accompanied him during the filing of nomination papers to Returning Officer in the Gujarat Assembly.

The last date for filing nominations is July 13 and if needed polling will be held on July 24.

Jaishankar went to the Rajya Sabha for the first time from Gujarat four years back. Out of the 11 Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat, eight are with the BJP and the rest is held by the Congress.

Of the eight seats of the BJP, the terms of S Jaishankar, Jugalji Thakor and Dinesh Anavadiya will end on August 18. The Congress on Friday said it would not field candidates for polls to the three Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat as it did not have enough MLAs in the 182-member state Assembly. In the Gujarat Assembly, the BJP has 156 seats, while the Congress has only 17 seats.


Comments are closed.