ODI WC 2023: Babar Azam To LEAD Pakistan Squad, Hasan Ali replaces injured Naseem Shah

New Delhi: First bowler Naseem Shah mises out as Pakistan announces squad for ODI World Cup 2023. Due to injuries reason Pakistan delayed its squad announcement. Regular ODI captain Babar Azam and Shadab Khan will be his deputy at the mega event.

Babar Azam, the side consists of Fakhar Zaman, Imam-Ul-Haq, Mohammed Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Salman Agha in the batting department.

Shadab Khan and Mohammed Nawaz are the two spin-bowling all-rounders in the side that also has Salman Agha and Iftikhar Ahmed. Looking to Indian spin pitches Pakistan have also brought in an extra legspinner in Usama Mir, who made his ODI debut earlier this year against New Zealand. The paces include Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammed Waseem and Hasan Ali.

“Naseem was injured, he was our main bowler and it was unfortunate. [Mohammad] Hasnain has an ankle injury and is out injured and so is Ihsanullah,” Inzamam-ul-Haq, Pakistan’s chief selector, said on the situation with the fast bowlers. “If you see how Hasan Ali performed in the LPL or other performances, he has performed better than most. He is an experienced bowler who has played big mega events for Pakistan and performed well in them.

As reported by ESPNcricinfo earlier, the shoulder injury, picked up during the Asia Cup, will keep Naseem out of action for several months, with Inzamam confirming his term of absence would not be confined to just the World Cup.

Pakistan ODI WC Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Travelling Reserves: Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Haris

Comments are closed.