Siddaramaiah Takes Oath In As Karnataka’s New CM, DK Shivakumar His Deputy

Bengaluru: Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah was sworn in on Saturday to formally take charge as Karnataka’s new Chief Minister. Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar, took oath as the solo Deputy Chief Minister. Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the chief minister and his cabinet. The oath taking ceremony took place at Sree Kanteerava Stadium, the same place where Siddaramaiah took oath in 2013, when he became chief minister of Karnataka for the first time.

Top Opposition leaders, including Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, CPI’s D Raja, Bihar Chief Minister and JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar, PDP’s Mehbuba Mufti, Sharad Pawar from NCP, Jammu & Kashmir National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah, and actor-turned politician Kamal Haasan, attended this oath taking ceremony in a symbolic display of Opposition unity against the BJP.

Eight newly elected MLAs with diverse representation, approved by Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge this morning — G Parameshwara (SC), KH Muniyappa (SC), KJ George (Minority-Christian), MB Patil (Lingayat), Satish Jarkiholi (ST-Valmiki), Priyank Kharge (SC, and AICC President M Mallikarjun Kharge’s son), Ramalinga Reddy (Reddy), and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan (Minority-Muslim) — are also taking the oath of office as ministers.

You might also like

Comments are closed.