TMC, NCP & CPI Lose National Party Status; AAP Becomes National Party

New Delhi: Election Commission on Monday took away the coveted national party tag from the Trinamool Congress (TMC), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and the Communist Party of India (CPI). Along with it, the EC recognized Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) as a national party.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was recognized as a National Party as it fulfilled the condition of Para 6B(iii) i.e. recognition as a state party in four states, based on electoral performance i.e –Delhi, Goa, Punjab, and most recently, in Gujarat.

The Election Commission order mentioned the parties can regain their national and state party status based on their performance in future electoral cycles as also the Lok Sabha elections due next year.

So, at present, the national parties in Indi are the BJP, Congress, CPI(M), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), National People’s Party (NPP), and the AAP.

The state party status granted to RLD in Uttar Pradesh, BRS in Andhra Pradesh, PDA in Manipur, PMK in Puducherry, RSP in West Bengal and MPC in Mizoram was revoked. They will remain as Registered Unrecognised Political Parties (RUPP).

The Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) in Nagaland, Voice of the People Party in Meghalaya, and the Tipra Motha in Tripura were granted “recognised state political party” status.

You might also like

Comments are closed.