Odisha Govt Announces Opening of 18 New Degree Colleges This Year

Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s Higher Education Minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak on Sunday announced plans to open 18 new degree colleges this academic year. This decision follows recommendations gathered by 5T chairman VK Pandian during his recent community visits.

Nayak highlighted the government’s commitment to addressing faculty shortages by hiring 1,056 lecturers via the Staff Selection Board within the next week, building on previous appointments in recent academic years.

The state’s educational landscape has significantly expanded, with the number of degree colleges growing from 548 in 2000 to 1,040 presently, accompanied by an increase in universities from 5 to 24. Among these are 17 government and 7 private universities, alongside 21 specialized research centres.

To enhance student experiences, the government has introduced initiatives such as smart classrooms, laboratories, and scholarship programs like Byasakabi Fakir Mohan Bhasabruti and Gopabandhu Siksha Sahayata Yojana.

Furthermore, students benefit from schemes like Biju Yuva Empowerment Yojana, Green Passage Yojana, and free civil service coaching.

You might also like

Comments are closed.