BJP To Win Surat LS Seat Uncontested As Congress Candidate Disqualified, Independents Withdraw

New Delhi: The BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal is set to be elected uncontested from the Surat Lok Sabha constituency as all other candidates withdrew from the contest. Monday was the last date for the withdrawal of nominations.

BJP’s Gujarat unit president CR Paatil in a post on X said, “Surat has presented the first lotus to Prime Minister Narendra Modi. I congratulate our candidate for Surat Lok Sabha seat Mukesh Dalal for getting elected unopposed.”

Eight candidates – seven of them independents – and Pyarelal Bharti of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) withdrew their nomination papers.

The nomination papers of the Congress’s Surat candidate Nilesh Kumbhani was rejected on Sunday as the Surat district returning officer found discrepancies in the signatures of the proposers.

The nomination form of Suresh Padsala, the Congress’s substitute candidate from Surat, was also found invalid.

The returning officer in his order stated that the proposers in the four nomination forms submitted by the two Congress candidates, in their affidavits, had said they had not signed the forms themselves.

The Congress party is planning to approach the High Court and the Supreme Court against this decision.

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh in a post on X said, “Our elections, our democracy, Babasaheb Ambedkar’s Constitution – all are under a generational threat. This is the most important election of our lifetime.”


You might also like

Comments are closed.