Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Congress Gets 17 Seats in UP, Sealing Alliance with Samajwadi Party

Lucknow: The Congress party is set to contest 17 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, while the remaining 63 will be contested by the Samajwadi Party (SP) and other alliance partners within the INDIA bloc.

Addressing the press on Wednesday, Avinash Pande, Congress Uttar Pradesh in-charge, announced the seat-sharing arrangement, highlighting Congress’ stronghold seats including Raebareli and Amethi. Additionally, the Congress will field candidates in Kanpur Nagar, Fatehpur Sikri, Basgaon, Saharanpur, Prayagraj, Maharajganj, Amroha, Jhansi, Bulandshahr, Ghaziabad, Mathura, Sitapur, Barabanki, Deoria, and even Varanasi, the constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The deal was brokered following a meeting between Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, General Secretary of Congress and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, effectively breaking a deadlock that persisted for weeks. Confirming the alliance, Akhilesh Yadav expressed positivity, stating, “All is well that ends well.” Sources indicate that Priyanka Gandhi played a pivotal role in orchestrating the agreement, having initiated discussions after consulting with Rahul Gandhi.

You might also like

Comments are closed.