Haryana CM Khattar Resigns as BJP’s Haryana Ally ‘Head for Split’

Chandigarh: In a sudden and fast political development in Haryana politics, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar resigned from the post hours before a split in the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP).  Khattar will be replaced by Nayab Singh Saini.

JJP was the ally of the BJP in the Haryana government.

According to sources, Khattar may be fielded as the BJP candidate from the Karnal Lok Sabha constituency.

All cabinet ministers of Haryana also reached the Governor house to submit their resignations.

The BJP-JJP alliance is said to have wrecked following differences over seat-sharing for the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

Five JJP MLAs are likely to join the BJP. They are Jogi Ram Sihag, Ram Kumar Gautam, Ishwar Singh, Ramniwas and Devinder Babli. These MLAs are likely to form a breakaway group and join the BJP.

A new Cabinet is now likely to be sworn in and the members of the breakaway JJP faction and Independent MLAs are likely to be included.

In the 90-member Haryana Vidhan Sabha, the BJP has 41 MLAs of its own while the JJP had 10 legislators.

Till now the BJP was ruling after a post-poll alliance with Dushyant Chautala’s JJP.

You might also like

Comments are closed.