IPL 2024, DC vs LSG: Lucknow Super Giants Win Toss, Opt To Bowl; Check Playing XIs

New Delhi: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) will face a desperate Delhi Capitals (DC) in a crucial IPL 2024 encounter tonight. Both teams, clinging to faint playoff hopes, require a victory to stay alive in the tournament.

LSG skipper KL Rahul’s future as captain has been under scrutiny following their crushing 10-wicket loss to Sunrisers Hyderabad. Speculation suggests Rahul might step down or see out his remaining two games before a potential departure from the franchise. Regardless, the Indian batsman will be determined to answer his critics with a strong performance and end the season on a positive note.

Rahul’s recent slump in form, leading to his omission from India’s T20 World Cup squad, coincides with LSG’s struggles. Currently sitting in seventh place with 12 points, LSG need wins in their remaining matches and favourable results elsewhere to secure a playoff berth. Both RCB and DC, with 12 points each, pose a significant threat in this tight race.

On the other hand, DC will be eager to bounce back from a disappointing loss to Royal Challengers Bengaluru. Costly dropped catches and misfields hampered the Capitals’ bowling efforts, despite a promising start. Their batting lineup also faltered, losing wickets early and recording their lowest score of the season. However, DC boast the firepower to recover, having previously posted four totals exceeding 200 runs.

While LSG enjoy a slight advantage in head-to-head record against DC (3-1), the Capitals emerged victorious in their last meeting.

The Arun Jaitley Stadium is known for its batting-friendly conditions, with short boundaries and high-scoring games. Teams batting first have capitalized on this advantage throughout the season, consistently posting substantial totals.

Playing XIs

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul(w/c), Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan

LSG Impact Subs: Ayush Badoni, Devdutt Padikkal, Prerak Mankad, Siddharth M, K Gowtham

Delhi Capitals: Abishek Porel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Gulbadin Naib, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

DC Impact Subs: Ishant Sharma, Kumar Kushagra, Pravin Dubey, Lalit Yadav, Swastik Chhikara

You might also like

Comments are closed.