IPL 2024, LSG vs DC: Lucknow Opt To Bat As Delhi Aim To Upset The Apple Cart; Check Playing XIs

Lucknow: The stage is set for a high-voltage North Indian derby in the IPL 2024 as Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) lock horns with the Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow tonight. This key clash will see in-form LSG, currently playing their A game, take on a struggling DC desperate to find their footing in the tournament.

The match adds an extra layer of intrigue with captains KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant, both vying for spots in the upcoming T20 World Cup squad, looking to lead their teams to victory. Rahul’s astute leadership and LSG’s exceptional bowling have been the hallmark of their success so far, with the team comfortably defending low totals.

On the other hand, DC will be looking to address their bowling woes after leaking runs in their opening encounters. Conceding hefty totals against both Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) has exposed their bowling attack’s vulnerabilities. The fielding has also been a concern for DC, adding pressure on captain Pant to turn things around.

A win for LSG could propel them into the top two of the points table, solidifying their position as a dominant force. For DC, victory is a must to climb out of the bottom ranks and get their campaign back on track.

Historically, LSG have enjoyed the upper hand against DC, winning all three of their previous encounters in the IPL. Notably, Lucknow secured a convincing 50-run victory in their last meeting at the Ekana Stadium, powered by a brilliant knock from Kyle Mayers and a devastating spell by Mark Wood.

Hot and humid weather is expected tonight, with the pitch likely to be a black soil surface. This could translate to a spin-friendly track similar to the one witnessed in LSG’s previous match against Gujarat Titans (GT).

Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul(w/c), Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur

You might also like

Comments are closed.