IPL 2024 Schedule for First 21 Matches Released, CSK vs RCB to Kick Off Tournament on March 22

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 schedule for the first 17 days has been officially announced, marking the start of this year’s competition on March 22. Reigning champions CSK will kick off the tournament against RCB in Chennai, making it the 9th time CSK has played the opening match.

All the day matches will commence at 3:30 PM, while evening fixtures will start at 7:30 PM on double-header days. A total of 21 matches are slated during this period. The second day of IPL will feature a double-header with Punjab Kings hosting Delhi Capitals and KKR welcoming SRH to the Eden Gardens.

The subsequent double-header will witness Hardik Pandya leading MI in Ahmedabad, with RR and LSG clashing earlier in the day. Interestingly, DC will not play their home matches in Delhi for the first two weeks, with their initial home matches scheduled in Vizag.

The IPL’s 17th edition schedule was only unveiled for the first 17 days due to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in April and May. The remaining fixtures will be determined after the announcement of election dates.

Previously, the IPL has been held overseas during election seasons, such as the 2009 edition in South Africa and partially in UAE in 2014. However, the 2019 edition successfully took place in India despite concurrent elections.

Reports suggest the final match will be held on May 26, preceding the T20 World Cup 2024 beginning on June 1.

You might also like

Comments are closed.