Samajwadi Party Names 16 Lok Sabha Candidates Amidst Opposition Turmoil

Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday announced its candidates for 16 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, sparking fresh questions about the future of the opposition’s INDIA bloc after major setbacks in Bihar and West Bengal.

This announcement comes a day after SP president Akhilesh Yadav declared reserving 11 seats for the Congress, hinting at a potential seat-sharing agreement within the bloc. However, the latest move raises doubts about the bloc’s solidity, particularly after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s decision to rejoin the NDA and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s solo poll stance.

Akhilesh Yadav’s wife, Dimple Yadav, will spearhead the party’s campaign in Mainpuri, while Shafiqur Rahman Barq and Ravidas Mehrotra will contest from Sambhal and Lucknow, respectively. These strategic placements highlight the Yadav family’s continued influence within the party.

You might also like

Comments are closed.