7 Sentenced to Death in Bhopal-Ujjain Train Blast Case of 2017

Lucknow: A NIA Special Court in Lucknow on Tuesday evening pronounced death sentences to seven of the eight convicts in the Bhopal-Ujjain train blast case of 2017. The other convict was awarded life sentence by the court. These persons were behind the blast that occurred in Bhopal-Ujjain passenger train on March 7, 2017.

All convicts of this case were terrorists of the outlawed terrorist organization ISIS. The ones who got capital punishment included Mohammad Faisal, Gaus Mohammad Khan, Mohd Azhar, Atif Muzaffar, Mohd Danish, Syed Mir Hussain, and Asif Iqbal alias Rocky. Atif alias Atif Irani has been sentenced to life imprisonment.

All of them were arrested by the UP police after an encounter in Lucknow. One terrorist named Saifullah was killed in the exchange of fire in Lucknow. Arms and ammunition were recovered from the arrested terrorists.

Around 10 passengers were injured in the explosion that occurred at the Jabri railway station in the Shajapur District of Madhya Pradesh.

NIA filed a chargesheet against the accused while charges were framed on all of them on March 21, 2018 for waging war against the country, collecting money, explosives, and weapons for terrorist activities. They were also alleged to be inciting youths for Jihad by showing Zakir Naik’s videos.

You might also like

Comments are closed.