Padampur: BJD Ahead in 10th Round Counting

Padampur: As of 12:10 PM on Thursday, five rounds of vote counting have been completed and BJD’s Barsha Singh Bariha is leading the Padampur assembly seat by 19,359 votes. Till the end of this round of counting, she had a total of 53,495 votes. BJP’s Pradip Purohit follows with 34,136 votes.

Congress’ candidate Satya Bhusan Sahu, who had won the seat three times earlier has secured only 1958 votes.

Vote counting for the byelection to the Padampur assembly constituency is underway right now. The counting will be undertaken in as many as 23 rounds on 14 benches.

A heavy tussle was seen between the candidates for the by-elections. This increased the anticipation among the candidates as well as the general public as a clear-cut winner is hard to be thought of.

Three-tier security arrangement will be in place with the innermost layer of CAPF personnel. State armed police and Odisha Police will manage the outermost layer under the supervision of the Bargarh Superintendent of Police (SP).

Polling for the Padampur assembly constituency took place at 319 booths in Bargarh on December 5.

A total of 2, 57,474 voters (1,29,497 male and 1,27,565 female voters) will exercise their franchise at 319 booths.

You might also like

Comments are closed.