Odia Author Jugal Kishore Sarangi Receives Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2023 for ‘Jejenka Gapa Ganthili’

Bhubaneswar: The Sahitya Akademi has recently announced the winners of the highly anticipated Bal Sahitya Puraskar for the year 2023. This year, the esteemed literary award recognizes and honours the contributions of as many as 22 writers who have excelled in the realm of children’s literature across various Indian languages.

Among the recipients, Jugal Kishore Sarangi, an Odia author, stands out for his exceptional compilation of short stories titled ‘Jejenka Gapa Ganthili’.

As a token of appreciation, Sarangi will receive a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a well-deserved citation from the Sahitya Akademi.

It is worth noting that this award follows the recognition of Odia author Narendra Prasad Das, who received the Bal Sahitya Puraskar in 2022. Previous recipients also include Daigaraj Brahma from Odisha in 2021, as well as renowned Odia authors Ramachandra Nayak (2020), Birendra Kumar Samantray (2019), and Birendra Mohanty (2018), as confirmed by sources.

The Bal Sahitya Puraskar serves as a platform to celebrate outstanding literary endeavours for young readers. The Sahitya Akademi’s recognition and support for children’s literature in various Indian languages play a crucial role in nurturing and promoting the country’s rich cultural heritage and diverse literary traditions.

You might also like

Comments are closed.