Soro MLA Parshuram Dhada, Phulbani Ex-MLA Debendra Kanhar Quit BJD Over Ticket Denials

Bhubaneswar: Two prominent members of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha, Soro MLA Parshuram Dhada and former Phulbani MLA Debendra Kanhar on Wednesday resigned from the party just days ahead of the 2024 Assembly elections.

Dhada, denied a party ticket to contest from Soro, tendered his resignation to Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik. Alleging misrepresentation of facts and lack of support from intermediary executives, Dhada stated his reasons for resigning from the primary membership of BJD.

Simultaneously, Debendra Kanhar, who had served the party for approximately 15 years, resigned from his position. Kanhar cited not being nominated as a candidate for the Phulbani Assembly as his reason for quitting the party.

The BJD has chosen Madhab Dhada as its candidate for the Soro seat in the upcoming elections. With these resignations, the political landscape in Odisha sees notable shifts as parties gear up for the electoral fray.

You might also like

Comments are closed.