Asian Para Games: Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik Announces ₹10 Lakh Reward for State’s Para-Athletes

Bhubaneswar: Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, has announced a generous cash incentive of Rs 10 lakh for each of the seven para-athletes from the state. These athletes are set to participate in the upcoming Asian Para Games, scheduled from October 22 to October 28.

In a press release from the Chief Minister’s Office, Patnaik conveyed his best wishes to the para-athletes, expressing immense pride in their tireless efforts to qualify for the prestigious Asian Para Games 2022 in Hangzhou, China. He praised these athletes as shining examples of the indomitable human spirit and determination.

The seven para-athletes representing India from Odisha include Pramod Bhagat (para-badminton), Jayanti Behera (para-athletics), Soundarya Kumar Pradhan (visually impaired chess), Rakhal Kumar Sethi, V Ramesh Rao, Prafulla Kumar Khandayatray, and Pujaswini Nayak (wheelchair fencing). Notably, Pramod Bhagat, the reigning Paralympic gold medalist, will be defending his gold medal in the para-badminton mixed singles event. In the previous edition held in Jakarta, Bhagat also secured a bronze medal in men’s doubles.

You might also like

Comments are closed.