Five Congress MPs Suspended from Lok Sabha for “Unruly Conduct”

New Delhi: Five Congress MPs were suspended from the Lok Sabha on Thursday for rest of the Winter Session after being named by the Speaker for disrupting House proceedings.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi moved a resolution to suspend the five MPs. The resolution said, “I move the following that this House having taken misconduct of TN Prathapan, Hibi Eden, Jothimani, Ramya Haridas and Dean Kuriakose Kuryakus in utter disregard to the House and the authority of this Chair and having been named by the chair…to be suspended from the service of the House for reminder session,” the resolution read.

At that time Bhratruhari Mahtab was chairing the proceedings.

Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi said that the MPs have shown utter disregard for the chair and therefore suspended for the remainder of the Winter Session.

Following the suspension of these Congress MPs, the Lok Sabha was adjourned till 3 PM.

Earlier on Thursday, Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar suspended TMC MP Derek O’Brien for “unruly behaviour” after he protested in the well over yesterday’s security breach incident.

You might also like

Comments are closed.