IND vs AUS, 5th T20I: Arshdeep’s Final Over Heroics Secure India 6-Run Victory in Nervy Thriller

Bengaluru: In a thrilling finish to the 5th T20 international, Pacer Arshdeep Singh’s impressive final over, conceding just 3 runs, secured India’s victory over Australia, sealing a 4-1 series win. Mukesh Kumar’s crucial 3 wickets and Ravi Bishnoi’s spin magic contributed to India’s success.

Travis Head and Josh Phillippe kickstarted Australia’s 161-run chase, with an explosive 14 runs off Arshdeep Singh’s first over. However, Mukesh Kumar’s early breakthrough dismissed Phillippe.

Shreyas Iyer’s stellar half-century guided India to a competitive 160/8 after facing challenges from Australia’s sharp bowling.

Facing a sensitive situation with quick wickets falling, Indian vice-captain Shreyas Iyer and Axar Patel managed to put runs on the scoreboard. Despite dismissals of Jaiswal, Gaikwad, and Yadav, Rinku Singh and Iyer aimed to stabilize the innings.

Australia’s skipper Matthew Wade opted to bowl first, setting India on the path to victory. Opening with Jaiswal and Gaikwad, India faced a formidable pace attack from Aaron Hardie and Jason Behrendorff.

In the final match at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Suryakumar Yadav led India to a memorable series win. Eyes were on him to capitalize on his good starts, posting a big score for confidence ahead of the upcoming T20 series in South Africa.

With the series already clinched, the Men in Blue aimed for a 4-1 victory, making it a memorable moment for Suryakumar Yadav’s captaincy debut. Players like Jitesh Sharma sought to solidify their place, and Axar Patel aimed to return to batting form.

Australia, led by Matthew Wade, sought a big win to conclude their extended tour of India. The high-scoring affair was anticipated at the Chinnaswamy Stadium due to favourable pitch conditions and small boundaries.

You might also like

Comments are closed.