Nitish Kumar Resigns as Bihar CM, Stakes Claim to Form Govt With BJP’s Support

Patna: Nitish Kumar stepped down as Bihar’s Chief Minister on Sunday, submitting his resignation letter to Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar at the Raj Bhavan. The Governor approved Kumar’s claim to form the NDA government with the BJP’s support. BJP’s Vinod Tawde tweeted a photo of Kumar submitting the letter and announced Samrat Choudhary and Vijay Sinha as the new Deputy Chief Ministers.

Kumar, addressing the Janata Dal (United) legislative meeting this morning, revealed his decision to resign. After Kumar’s resignation, the BJP swiftly offered its support and elected new Deputy Chief Ministers. Tawde expressed confidence in PM Modi’s leadership and BJP President Nadda’s guidance for Bihar’s betterment.

Post-resignation, Nitish Kumar also assumed the role of the NDA head in Bihar. He urged the Governor to dissolve the Mahagathbandhan alliance, citing an unsatisfactory situation within the coalition, which included Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD and Congress with three Left parties.

Preparations are underway for Kumar’s swearing-in ceremony at 5 pm, where eight ministers, including two Deputy Chief Ministers and six cabinet ministers, will take the oath. BJP President JP Nadda is expected to arrive in Patna around 4:15 pm.

Earlier reports indicated the BJP’s strategy to wait for Kumar’s resignation before offering their support. The party’s demand includes two Deputy Chief Ministers and the state assembly Speaker’s position.

You might also like

Comments are closed.